GlaxoSmithKline Names New Chairman To Be Effective in 2015

GlaxoSmithKline plc (GSK) reports that Sir Philip Hampton will join its board of the company as non-executive director from January 1, 2015 and will become deputy chairman with effect from April 1, 2015.

He will succeed Sir Christopher Gent as non-executive chairman with effect from September 1, 2015, or at an earlier date if released from other commitments.

The appointment follows an succession planning process undertaken by the board over the last two years. The appointment of Sir Philip was recommended by the board's nominations committee, chaired by Sir Deryck Maughan, GSK's senior independent non-executive director.

Sir Philip has been chairman of The Royal Bank of Scotland Group plc (RBS) since February 2009. He was previously chairman of J Sainsbury plc and group finance director at Lloyds TSB Group, BT Group plc, BG Group plc, British Gas and British Steel plc, an executive director of Lazards and a non-executive director at RMC Group plc and Belgacom SA. He is also a former chairman of UK Financial Investments Limited, which manages the UK government's shareholdings in banks. Sir Philip is senior independent director of Anglo American plc, chairman of its Remuneration Committee and member of its Audit Committee. He will leave RBS in 2015.

Source: GlaxoSmithKline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *